To share or not to share? Is anyone reading this?

How am I qualified to tell you about food?  I’ve never been to culinary school.  I’m not a dietician. I am just a regular girl who likes food and takes the opportunity to try as much of it as possible.

The combination of my job related travel and my husband’s crazy work schedule give me the opportunity to spend a lot of time trying new restaurants either by myself, with friends, co-workers or strangers.    When not looking over menus I am cooking in my own kitchen, striving to recreate family traditions, develop healthy dishes or top the last concoction.

So why write?   I was on yet another trip for work by myself eating some great food.  I realized that after each meal there were always a handful of people I was reporting back to with what I ate and usually a few more I wish I was sharing with.  Even if this blog lets me have these conversations in a better format than text messages it will be worth it.

My promise to you, my reader, is to share with you my adventures in food, tell you where to find some treasures, share some of the recipes and inspire you to taste the world around you.

My only request – never say never .  My father is a great example.  He does not like asparagus.  Somehow around 2 to 3 times a year he will be at a dinner where asparagus is being served, the kind of function where it would be impolite to ask for broccoli instead.  Each time he politely eats a bite or two just to say he could try it.  After 50 plus years of being polite he has actually found a preparation of asparagus he likes.  Not that you have to subject yourself to a food you are not a fan of daily until you like it – just keep an open mind.  You may surprise yourself.

Yes I will detail the trip that inspired this blog shortly.  Please provide feedback and encouragement as you see fit and I will provide the anecdotes, links to restaurants and recipes as they come up.

Until we eat again,

Jen

About Jen The Nerd

Nerd that likes food - What else do you need to know?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

